RetroFed Forum
Your home away from modern life.
WARNING: Game-breaking blueprint bug in 12.1. You can lose your build!
Post Reply
AuthorMessage
Lemmit.Online bot Bot bot@lemmit.online
Joined: 2023-06-18
Quote

This is an automated archive made by the Lemmit Bot.

The original was posted on /r/wow by /u/Deicide-UH on 2026-08-05 21:47:56+00:00.


https://reddit.com/link/1vgl3tx/video/b9550c2qjmhh1/player

So, I reported this bug over a month ago, when blueprints became available for testing. Now, with one week before release, I returned to PTR to check if it was fixed, and it's still there.

BE WARNED: As soon as the patch goes live, save full blueprints for both your houses! If you don't and this bug hits you, you can lose your entire work with no way to revert it!

I hastily made the low-effort video above (sorry, I'm not used to making videos) to showcase the bug, but here's what happens and how, as well as additional information.

  • This happens if you have a blueprint of ONLY exterior or ONLY interior. Having a full blueprint (exterior AND interior) and applying it entirely won't cause this bug. Also, I didn't encounter issues with room-only blueprints.
  • If you import an exterior blueprint, and then activate Edit Mode while on your interior, almost ALL your interior decor will be instantly removed, leaving your interior empty (only the rooms will remain).
  • Plus, if you import an interior blueprint, then activate Edit Mode while on your exterior, almost ALL your exterior decor will be instantly removed, leaving your exterior empty (only the house itself will remain).
  • The bug can feed back on itself: if you lose your interior decor, then apply an interior-only blueprint to restore it, you'll lose your exterior decor due to the bug. Only applying a full interior+exterior blueprint can stop this cycle.
  • This decor removal IS NOT saved in your auto-saved backup blueprints. You can't revert it in any way but applying an existing blueprint. So, if you haven't saved your build already, you WILL lose all your work.
  • The removed decor goes back to your house chest, so at least it doesn't need to be reacquired.
  • Logging out and back in DOES NOT prevent this bug. You can apply an interior or exterior blueprint, log out, and when you return later as soon as you use Edit mode in the opposite stance of your house, most of the decor WILL be removed.
  • Logging out and back in DOES NOT restore the removed decor. Once it happens, the only way to return things as they were is to apply a saved blueprint.

Hopefully this gets fixed before 12.1.0 goes live in six days, but if not I predict a lot of people losing their work. So, I'm leaving this warning for everyone.

1   Original
Post Reply
Back to top