RetroFed Forum
Your home away from modern life.
If you were vegetarian before becoming vegan, were there any products you saw that made you ask "is this even vegetarian?"
Post Reply
AuthorMessage
TheTechnician27 lemmy.world TheTechnician27@lemmy.world
Joined: 2024-07-25
Quote

For me, vegetarianism was predominantly about ethics. From that side of the fence, it seemed like I was doing 90% of the good I could and veganism was high-hanging fruit with the other 10%. More importantly, the line – and the industries – seemed rigidly distinct. A couple animal products formed cracks in that wall.

Gelatin was the first. I liked gelatin dessert, and I took vitamins in gelatin capsules. Then, on a whim, learned how it's made – that not only was it an animal product but that I had no room to call it vegetarian. Yet cutting it out, I considered, probably reduced much less harm than my decision to eat other animal products caused. I stopped eating it, but something felt wrong.

Parmesan cheese was the other one. It and mozzarella were the only two cheeses I liked growing up, and they were both foods I really wanted to keep around. When I learned about rennet, this changed. I started cutting out Parmesan. My understanding is that "non-Parmesan" (if you want to be snooty and purist) like Kraft uses plant-based enzymes to make the cheese, so it doesn't rub against that vegetarian grey area any more than any other dairy product. But the idea that I couldn't know made me too uncomfortable to eat it.

Did anyone else have something similar where cracks started to form?

1   Original
Post Reply
Back to top